HOW TO: Authorize and DeAuthorize a Computer on iTunes ?

Apple allows maximum number of 5 computers to authorize with your iTunes from your iOS devices like iPhone, iPad or iPod. Sometimes, we may not use the computer anymore that we have added to the authorized list. Hence, it is important to know how to authorize and deauthorize a computer on iTunes. Each computer you authorize will be added to your Apple ID and once you reached the limit of 5 computers, you got to remove some previously added computer from the list to add another.

itunes-authorize-computer

Apple says that this limit helps you to know and manage which computers can sync or use apps and other contents you have purchased from iTunes Store. In this post, you will see how to authorize a computer on iTunes and how to deauthorize a computer on iTunes to remove and add new computer.

How to Authorize a Computer on iTunes ?

In order to enable Home Sharing, Automatic Downloads and to download previous iTunes purchases, your computer must be authorized for use with your Apple ID. If you have songs encoded in AAC audio file format that you have on your CDs or DVDs then iTunes dont need any authorization. But for other iOS connectivity and service usage, you need this authorization with your iTunes.

Step 1: Open your iTunes on your Mac OS X or Windows

Step 2: Go to “Store” menu and choose “Authorize this computer“.

Note: If you have older version of iTunes, you can find this option under “Advanced” menu.

Step 3: Enter your Apple ID and Password in the login prompt and click “Authorize”

How to DeAuthorize a Computer on iTunes ?

If you want to sell your computer or sold it already, then deauthorize a computer from iTunes can let you add another computer. When you Reinstall your Operating System or Upgrading your OS, RAM or Harddisk of your computer then remember to deauthorize as it may cause multiple authorization for the same computer. Lets see how to deauthorize a computer on iTunes.

Step 1: Open iTunes on your Mac or Windows PC.

Step 2: Go to “Store” menu and choose “Deauthorize this Computer“. (If you are using older version of iTunes, you can find it under “Advanced” menu.)

Step 3: Login with your Apple ID and Password when prompted then click Deauthorize.

If you are not sure which computer you have authorized and want to deauthorize any computer that you have added to your account (example: deauthorize dead computer, deauthorize old computers) then login to your iTunes and navigate to iTunes Account page. Under “Account Summary” section click on “Deauthorize all” button to remove all the computers from the list.

YouTube Preview Image

You may refer the video above to understand the steps well.

Thanks for reading and you may now share this post with your friends and followers across social networking sites or bookmark this to help more people. Have a wonderful day !